Origin of  MAPACS

The association, originally called MAPS (Malaysian Association of Plastic Surgeons) was founded in 1984 by the country’s 8 practising plastic surgeons at that time. It was formally registered under Section 7, Society Act, 1966 in the year 1985.

While the objectives of the association are clearly spelt out under Article H in the constitution, the impetus for its formation was really the prospect of hosting the IV Asean Congress of Plastic Surgery in Feb 1988. With that, the need to pool the resources of the country’s limited number of plastic surgeons was even more pressing.

After several communications among the founder members of the association throughout 1983, the first general meeting was held on 15 January 1984 at the MMA (Malaysian Medical Association) Council Room in Jalan Pahang, Kuala Lumpur. in the meeting, the chairman, Dr V Sivaioganathan called for the proposal for the formation of the Malaysian Association of Plastic Surgeons (MAPS). The motion was unanimously passed and the association’s first executive committee was elected. A draft of the constitution was submitted to the Registrar of Societies. After several amendments, the association was finally registered in March 1985 and the association’s first executive committee held their first meeting on 1 7 May 1985 at the seminar room in the Department of Surgery, University Kebangsaan Malaysia.

Since its inception, the association has hosted 3 international conferences with significant success and membership has grown from 8 to 35 by mid 2003. It underwent a name change from MAPS to MAPACS. This was introduced in 1999, formally proposed and accepted by the society in 2000, approved by the Registrar of Societies in 2001 and formally adopted by in the AGM /ASM 2002.


V Sivaioganathan
S Kandiah
Lal Kumar
G S W Geh
V Surendranathan
C Arianayagam
Isa Haji Omar
Steve Wong K S

Origin Booklet

Source: MAPS Booklet 1993


Dr V Sivaloganathan
Dr Lal Kumar
Dr V Surendranathan
Dr Isa Haji Omar
Dr Steve Wong K S
Dato Dr M Subramaniam
Dr Lim Chai Leng
Dato Dr R Gunasegran
Dr David Cheah
Dr Angamuthu Rajoo

1984 - 1988
1988 - 1990
1990 - 1992
1992 - 1994
1994 - 1996
1996 - 1998
1998 - 2000
2000 - 2002
2002 - 2004
2004 - 2006


Dr Syed S M A Aihady
Dr B L Morgan
Dr I F Muir
Dr Ian MacGregor
Dr D N Robinson
Dr Yoichi Ogino
Dr Vengataswamy
Dr Kiyonori Harii
Dr David J David
Dr Mani Mani

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Jacksonville, USA
Aberdeen, UK
Glasgow, UK
Adelaide, Australia
Tokyo, Japan
Madras, India
Tokyo, Japan
Adelaide, Australia
Kansas, USA


    (International Federation of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgeons)
  • Asia Pacific IPRAS
    (Oriental Society of Aesthetic Plastic Surgery)
  • Asean Federation of Plastic Surgery